Time.

It’s really non-negotiable. 60 seconds in a minute. 60 minutes in an hour. 24 hours in a day. For most of us, we are in a constant rush to get things done be it work, or school, or volunteering, or for those out there reading that have children; taking care of our children, and being able to provide for our families. And you know what? I absolutely hate it. There are days when I feel like I can’t enjoy life because I’m so busy. But that’s what society expects us to do. If we aren’t busy, we aren’t doing enough with our lives and I find that ludicrous. According to societys standards I should be a full time student, working a part time job, making straight A’s, and I should have an adequate social life. I don’t know how many people realize how immensely difficult that is to do, but I can tell you for a fact it’s difficult. I took 17 hours this semester, worked 23-24 hours a week, and am in a sorority. It’s difficult to balance all of that. In fact, I failed my math class, had 2 mental breakdowns, and ate half a gallon of ice cream. I made mistakes.  

Time is irreversible. You can’t change the past.

Most people when asked the question: If you had three wishes what would you use them for? Answer either: money, love, or changing something in their past. Personally, I know I’ve made quite a few mistakes (Okay so more than a few mistakes) but I wouldn’t change a single thing. Do I regret things? Of course! Who doesn’t regret things in their past? However, would I want to change those regrets? Heck no! They made me into who I am today, and I honestly like who I am. Did I enjoy those 2 mental breakdowns this semester? No, Did I want to fail my math class? No. Things happen. Life goes on, and you learn from your mistakes. What did I learn from this semester? That I probably shouldn’t take more than 15 hours a semester, that I should spend more time studying, especially classes I have a hard time in, and that eating half a gallon of ice cream probably wasn’t the best choice in the world(sorry stomach). However, life will go on. I’ll retake math, I will take 15 hours, and I won’t eat a half gallon of ice cream in one sitting. And if there’s one giant lesson I learned this semster, it’s that although I may want my life to go one way, God is ultimately in control. 

Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” Proverbs 19:21

So now onto my sophomore year and new lessons. And although I want my year to go a certain way, I know I can’t predict the future. As a wise little green man said “Impossible to see the future is.”

 

Peace,

Mary

Leave a Reply

