Day Four.

The days are starting to blur together now. After sitting in what seems like a weeks worth of committee meetings during the past two days, my committee; Social Justice Issues, finished up with our entire agenda around 5:15 last night. We went 15 minutes over what the schedule says, but I can say that I am thankful it was only 15 minutes rather than being up until 2 a.m. as has happened in past General Assemblies. 

Our committee was to review and approve overtures yesterday on: the death penalty, abortion, suicide, drug policies, financial and political reform, tax justice, and voter suppression. It was a long day. After disapproving the overture about abortion, it was asked to be reconsidered. It was still disapproved, however it’s pulled from the consent agenda and will be able to be talked about on plenary floor today, tomorrow, and Friday. Gun violence was also pulled from the consent agenda and will be able to be talked about on plenary floor for the next three days. I can say that it will be a long three days, however I am excited to see the progress and change that will hopefully come out of them!

Last night was our dinner for the commissioners, observers, advisory delegates, and really anyone here who is from Grace Presbytery. The new vice-moderator of GA came and talked to us, saying that she was very excited to be in the position and wanted the Presbytery to know that if we needed anything to not hesitate to contact her or Heath. The food was delicious of course. Presbyterians know how to eat and we ate really well last night. I ended up sitting next to John and Emily Williams on one side, and Shane Webb on the other. I got to see Papa Ron, John Swindle, and David Ivie (my interim pastor who is awesome). Overall, it was just a nice way to end my day yesterday. Spending it with laughter, joy, and conversation with others from my presbytery was the chocolate straw on the cheesecake we had. After dinner, Emily and I sat in my room and talked for almost 2 hours. It was very nice to see a familiar face and be able to catch up on her life. Lord knows I’m going to miss that girl when she leaves for Kerrville in August. I’m very blessed to be able to call her my little sister and even more blessed that she calls me her big.

As a general overview, day four was probably one of my favorite days this week. I’m sure that today-Saturday could change that opinion, but that’s what I think right now and I’m sticking with it.

I’ll be live-tweeting throughout plenary as I have been throughout the committee meetings for those who would like to follow. Also, they will start live-streaming plenary beginning at 2 pm Eastern Time(so 1 pm Central) for those who would like to watch it.

Peace to all! And pray for the commissioners as they are about to embark on a journey filled with lots of decisions and conflict. However, I pray that we remember to abound in hope!

Leave a Reply

