Blessed Adventures

This summer I had the privilege and blessing to work as a counselor at Camp Gilmont. For those who do not know, I grew up going to Gilmont and it’s basically another home for me. It’s amazing how close you can get to people in a matter of a week, but try spending an entire summer with these people. I can definitely say that the summer staff became my family. 

We started the summer off with staff training where we all learned the ropes of being a counselor and got to know each other. I left the 2nd to last day of staff training to head to Detroit for General Assembly, and I can honestly say I was sad to leave even after only knowing most of these people for less than a week. I have no proper words to describe how I feel for them other than I love them and have been blessed to have had the opportunity to get to know them and have such a wonderful support system all summer. 

I found out in the middle of July that I wasn’t going to be able to afford to go back to UNT in the fall and had I been at home I probably would’ve come unglued. But alas, I had all these wonderful people who would listen to my antics and problems, and helped me work through everything. If any of ya’ll are reading this, I want you to know that even if you think you didn’t help, you did. Whether it be a random hug, or something you said, you all helped me stay positive about the situation and for that I am oh so grateful.

The campers were fantastic. They reminded me why I want to become a youth pastor. I have so many memories that will stay with me because of campers; things they said, things they did, and all the times they thoroughly impressed me with how much they got the whole Jesus thing. 

This summer was one heck of an adventure and I loved every minute of it. Looking back, the times when I was frustrated or stressed was when I saw God working the most through others. I have been blessed beyond belief to have met and grown close with such amazing people, and to have hopefully made an impact on a childs life.

I love you all so much and wish you all the best this next year!                                                   10553899_10154458167460173_6983905660189009613_o

Leave a Reply

