Not all who wander are lost.

Hey there pals.

What a year it has been. I’ve lost, I’ve laughed, I’ve changed, and yet so many things remain unchanged. I now live with 3 of my closest guy friends which has been so much fun! It’s like living with my brothers again, only these guys actually know how to be clean! I worked as a server and bartender on lower Greenville Ave. in Dallas and THAT was quite an adventure in and of itself, but I’ll write again later to tell all about my adventures there. And then there’s summer camp. This past summer I had the privilege of being one of the two assistant summer camp directors, and wow. As a counselor, you think they don’t do much but let me tell you kids, they do a lot! From cleaning up puke at 1 a.m. to making sure the youngest kid at camp had a teddy bear to sleep with, there’s a lot the assistant directors do.

Over this last semester, I started to become bored with my classes. The things that I thought would interest me and make for a good job that I knew I could do without any issues, just didn’t do it for me. Sure, I love reading about the history of the Old Testament, and there’s no doubt that I enjoy hearing about other religions and their customs. But, thinking that I should do something for the rest of my life just because it’s easy? That didn’t sit well.I need a challenge as well as something I love doing.

I love ministering to people and being able to show people the love of Christ. I love working with children, youth, and even adults. I love taking care of people. It might just be part of being a big sister. I don’t know. What I do know, is that all this past year I’ve felt lost. Like I didn’t know which way was North, and where I should be going. It hit me during finals week of junior year. I was good at what I was already doing, but my heart wasn’t in it.

I’ve always wanted to be a pediatrician, ever since I was eight. Blood doesn’t bother me, internal organs are fascinating, and helping kids is what I love doing. Eyeballs? Well.. I’m working on that one but everyone has something that freaks them out, right? I hate being in school, and I’m ready to be a working class citizen. (I’m sure I’ll regret saying that in a few years) So, I’ve decided to go into nursing. And I have never in my entire life wanted to go to school and learn as much as I do now. I can feel it in my heart that this is what I’m supposed to be doing. In fact, after I graduate and have worked for a few years I would absolutely love to help out with Doctors Without Borders, or something of the like.

I feel like my life has led up to this very realization. I’ve never felt more confident in God’s will for me than I do now and I’m so excited to continue in it. I can still work with youth and children, I can definitely show the love of Christ, and I can minister to people. It’s a dream come true.

I wasn’t lost. I was never lost. I was simply wandering down a path that later connected with the one I’m meant to walk. God’s timing is impeccable, and everything definitely has it’s time. My time is now.

~Mary

One comment

  1. Beth Henderson (Grandma) · August 27, 2016

    Awesome awareness. That’s just the way God works, in my experience. He will let us have our way and explore our options but there is always that pull that brings us in line with His great plans for our lives. Still, as Presbyterians, we can choose to ignore that leading, but our heavenly Father does know best. I will be in prayer for you as you move forward on this path. Love you!

Leave a Reply

