The Year of Me

We are officially 12 days into 2017 and I have been wracking my brain as to what my resolution for this year should be. I’ve finally come up with 5 that I definitely would like to accomplish.

  1. Do more of what makes me happy and don’t let anyone effect that
  2. Be more active! Be healthier! Get some gainz! (as my brothers would say)
  3. Start writing more (this one is going to be hard, but I’ve got a sticky note on my desk reminding me to post at least once a week)
  4.  Slow down and find the joy in the small things
  5. Try something new at least once a week

I feel like those should be easy enough to accomplish, but I feel as if we all say that in January and come February or March we have shoved our resolutions to the back of our brain and focused on other things. I’m so excited for this year in particular because I will finally be studying something that makes me excited to be an adult!

For those who haven’t heard yet, I am the new youth director for a Presbyterian church in the area and I am absolutely elated! I’m also a tad bit overwhelmed at the current moment, but that’s to be expected for anyone who starts a new job. I’m also a nanny for 3 boys under the age of 5. It’s crazy-town most days, but there are moments that make it all worth it; like having a baby fall asleep in your arms, getting fought over who gets to hug you first, who gets to walk you to your car, showing me the cool things they learned at school, and my personal favorite: sharing with them my love of the outdoors and reading. It definitely makes me want to wait to have kids until I’m 35, but everyday is a new adventure.

I’m so excited to share my insights, adventures, and failures with ya’ll this year. Yes, I said failures, because we know that nobody is perfect (try as we may). I want to leave ya’ll with one last thing, and that’s my favorite bible verse.

“No testing has overtaken you that is not common to everyone. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tested beyond your strength, but with the testing he will also provide the way out so that you may be able to endure it.” – Corinthians 10:13

I hope you remember that when things seem impossibly difficult. As mama always said “Mary, if God put you to it, He’ll pull you through it”

 

Peace,

~Mary

 

Leave a Reply

