When You Love Somebody

“When u love somebody, it’s hard to think about anything but to breathe”

The Fruit Bats said it best in my opinion.

Think about when you’re falling in love for the first time, or even for the second or third because heaven knows we don’t fall in love only once. It’s hard to not think about anything else except that person, and I can honestly attest to that statement because I’ve been there, done that. With Valentine’s Day coming up fast, we tend to think of it as a holiday for couples or, like myself and the cynics of the world think of it; a capitalist holiday where it’s only a thing so that chocolate companies, flower companies, and the like can make a few hundred dollars. While yes, I still agree with that last statement I also like to think of Valentine’s Day as a day to celebrate not just our significant others. It’s a day to spread LOVE! DUH.

Not only should we celebrate those we love, we should also make a point to share love every day. That’s right, every day my friends. Here’s where a lot of people (including myself) have a problem and it’s that we should also share love with people we don’t like, people we don’t think “deserve it”. I don’t know about ya’ll but when I love someone, I love deeply. If a person I love needs anything, I try my absolute best to help them out. So it’s hard for me to love someone who is full of hate, or someone who has done absolutely horrid things. I feel as if that’s a pretty common thing for most people though. “The second is this, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.” Guess where that’s from? Mark 12:31. Guess what else? Christianity isn’t even the only religion that teaches that.

Hinduism: “This is the sum of duty: do not do to others what would cause pain if done to you.” Mahabharata 5:1517

Confucianism: Tse-kung asked, ‘Is there one word that can serve as a principle of conduct for life?’ Confucius replied, ‘It is the word ‘shu’ — reciprocity. Do not impose on others what you yourself do not desire.'” Doctrine of the Mean 13.3

Buddhism: “Hurt not others in ways that you yourself would find hurtful.” Udana-Varga 5:18

Islam: “None of you [truly] believes until he wishes for his brother what he wishes for himself.” Number 13 of Imam “Al-Nawawi’s Forty Hadiths.” 3

Judaism: “…thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself.”, Hebrew Scriptures (a.k.a. Old Testament) Leviticus 19:18

I could keep listing, but you would probably stop reading after a while. Even if you aren’t the religious type, you were probably still taught this because it’s basic human decency. So what’s the deal? Why do we only celebrate loving people once or twice a year? (I say twice because people are generally more giving, and kinder around Christmas time.)  Especially in today’s day and age we need to love one another. We need to radiate positive vibes dudes. {insert hippie flag here}

If you don’t take anything away from this other than “Well, Mary’s rambling on the internet again”, then I challenge you, I challenge everyone;myself included, to love one another. That person that won’t stop posting politics on your Facebook feed that you don’t agree with? Love them. That person who did/said that one thing to you a long time ago but you’re still upset about it? First of all, forgive them, secondly, love them. Those people who are different than you and scare you? Love them. That person who cut you off in traffic? LOVE THEM. It’s gonna be hard, but if all we have is hate and general discontent towards people, we will soon be a world of robots rather than humans. And while robots are super cool, I’d rather have people that can think for themselves.

 

Here’s that Fruit Bats song I mentioned at the beginning. It’s pretty dope.

 

LOVE,

~Mary

One comment

  1. Holly · January 24

    Well said Mary!

Leave a Reply

