An Open Letter To My Mom

Dear Mom,

On this your 50th birthday, and International Women’s Day there are a few things I would like to say.

For 50 years, you have graced this Earth with your abundance of joy, wisdom, and laughter. You have touched the lives of numerous people with your faith and teachings. You have been a listener, a teacher, and a friend to hundreds of youth and adults through your work within the church. You have been a mother to not only Jordan, Chandler, and myself, but countless other people who have gone through youth group or have worked with you in the many different activities and groups you are in.

For 22 years, I have had the privilege of calling you mom. You have made me who I am today, and for that I sincerely thank you. You have taught me kindness, grace, humbleness, and to find joy in the small things. You have taught me how to be a friend, how to love, and how to be a listener. We have been through some tough times, but even through the bad you were always willing to listen to my petty problems, teach me how to bake your famous cookies, and spend time with me and the boys. You are always willing to lend a helping hand, give to others, and put everyone before yourself.

On this International Women’s Day, I look to you as the most influential and important woman in the entire universe. You have bestowed your wealth of knowledge, and your wisdom to me, and have taught me how to be a strong independent woman and for that I am extremely thankful.

So thank you. Thank you God for gifting you; Jeannie Dian Collins Henderson as my mother. Thank you for all the lessons we have learned, whether easy or hard. Thank you for raising me to be a strong woman of Christ and for instilling great morals and values in my life. I love you times a million!

Now, have a happy birthday and go enjoy yourself!

 

Love always and forever,

Mary

Leave a Reply

